How to hang wedding flowers from church pews with Doey’s pew clips

September 22, 2009 at 4:28 pm 6 comments

CathysWraps Vases & Doey's Pew CLip

When I learned my niece, Erin, was getting married, I offered to help with her wedding flowers. As the wedding approached, I wondered what I’d gotten myself into, so, I asked my friend, Katy, who is a florist for some advice. The plan was to use my vases with Doey’s Pew Clips to decorate the wedding aisles allowing Erin to reuse her wedding flowers as reception centerpieces.

Here’s how we did it. Katy Breen, a local florist and owner of Katy’s Daisies helped Erin choose her flowers. I ordered the flowers from a local wholesale market, made fresh cuts to the stems and refrigerated the flowers. The next day, I placed the flowers in buckets of water and drove 4 hours to the wedding destination and refrigerated the flowers again. The next day, a day before the wedding, her aunties, mother, grandmother and I gathered to make the wedding flower arrangements. Did I mention none of us had any floral training?

No matter, the bouquets were beautiful. Each one was unique and made with love for Erin and Chase.

CathysWraps Vases & Doey's Pew CLip

The finished floral arrangements were refrigerated overnight and transferred to the church the next day. There, I added the wraps and Pew Clips while my dear hubby put them on the pews.

CathysWraps Vases & Doey's Pew CLip

Post Ceremony, these little helpers and I transferred the wedding aisle flowers to the reception where the wedding aisle décor were repurposed as reception table centerpieces, decorating the bar area, the powder rooms, the entry way and the cake tables.

CathysWraps Vases & Doey's Pew CLip

It was a Beautiful Day and a classy wedding. I’ll post the recipe soon explaining how to recreate this ‘just picked’ look for your wedding flowers or special event.

Entry filed under: cathyswraps, CathysWraps Stylish Flower Vases, OSI Rock Stars, party centerpieces, style me pretty, Uncategorized, wedding flowers. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

How to make a Gerbera Daisy Centerpiece. Make a Simple Pumpkin Centerpiece or Hostess Gift

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Monique Wilber  |  September 25, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    Cathy, the repurposed aisle vases to reception centerpieces are beautiful! And with the green “eco” trend, you don’t have to be an expert designer to make some lovely vases, in fact, I like the “just picked” look rather than a perfect “dome.” What a beautiful day and a lovely way for a bride and her relatives to spend a day, arranging flowers!

    Reply
  • 2. cathyswraps  |  September 25, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    Thank you Monique. I’ll post the Recipe soon so other can recreate the “just picked” look.

    Reply
  • 3. Toronto Florist  |  October 20, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    I really like your ideas! The flowers are beautifull!
    The repurposed aisle vases to reception centerpieces are lovely (and I doubt people noticed that you reused them)!

    Reply
  • 4. Kathy Picht  |  October 20, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    I was one of the lucky aunts that got to help arrange the flowers for Erin’s wedding. Cathy was right on when she said none of us had experience arranging flowers. It was fun being creative in our individual way even if we were all working with the same ingredients! I was quite pleased with the ones I designed, if I say so myself. If I can do it – anyone can. I would recommend Cathy’s wraps for all brides – those who want to save money and use them for both the wedding and reception or for those who just want something beautiful for either the church or reception. Cathy’s vases and wraps are very creative and a unique idea! Erin’s wedding was beautiful and Cathy’s wraps and vases made it all the more!

    Reply
  • 5. montreal florist  |  March 6, 2010 at 12:18 am

    That is a good idea for hanging flowers. Thanks for the information.

    Reply
  • 6. Joan Heath  |  May 8, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    Fantastic idea. I will certainly take the eco sense approach to our wedding and repurpose where I can for our destination wedding in Italy. I am sure however, I will be met with some objection from the florist there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Etsy Wedding Divas

Etsy Wedding Divas

Recent posts

Blog Stats

  • 54,003 hits

